Sunday, 18 December 2016


From Thomas Walsh's History of the Irish Hierarchy:

Drogheda on the Meath side of the river Priory and hospital of St John of the order of Cross bearers was founded in it is supposed the reign of King John by Walter de Lacie who was if not the founder at least its principal benefactor It belonged to the grand establishment at Kilmainham This hospital paid annually half a marc proxies to the bishop of Meath Thomas Dane was the last prior and on the 26th of July the thirty first of king Henry VIIL was found seized of a church and belfry chapter house dormitory and dwelling with its other appurtenances In the sixth of Edward VI it was granted with a parcel of its property to James Sedgrave for ever at the annual rent of 10s 10d Carmelite friary on the Meath side of the river and convenient to the castle or garrison of Drogheda This house was founded by the inhabitants of Drogheda for Carmelites in honor of the blessed Virgin In the first year of Edward II it appears by inquisition that the corporation of Drogheda had granted to the friars of this order a piece of land containing eighty virgates and on the 23d of June 1346 Edward LTJ granted a license to Richard the son of William Massager of Drogheda permitting him to assign to this house four acres of land adjoining the same with the appurtenances for the purpose of increasing and maintaining the lights burning in honor of the blessed Virgin in this church In the year 1468 it was enacted by Parliament that this convent should for ever enjoy a chief rent of ten shillings yearly which had been granted to the burgesses of the town Part of this friary was afterwards repaired for the service of the parish ie the Protestant

Wednesday, 30 November 2016


From Thomas Walsh's History of the Irish Hierarchy:

Mullingar the capital of the county priory of St Mary This house known by the name of the house of God of Mullingar was founded in 1227 for canons regular of St Augustine by Ralph le Petit bishop of Meath AD 1305 Donat O Flaherty bishop of Killala was interred here AD 1397 Hugh was prior to whom Adam Petyt granted forty acres of land in Killbrena AD 1464 the town was burned and destroyed by the people of Managh AD 1467 the prior Petyt died of the plague AD 1534 John Petyt was the last prior An inquisition was held in the thirty first of Henry VHL and a second in the thirteenth of Elizabeth when three hundred and sixty acres of arable and pasture with thirty three messuages were granted to Richard Tuite and his heirs male by knight's service at the yearly rent of 16 5s 10d Irish money The priory of St Mary's paid annually four marcs to the bishop of Meath Dominican Friary AD 1237 the family of Nugent founded this abbey AD 1278 to 1314 general chapters of the order were held here In the eighth of Elizabeth this convent with one hundred and twenty acres of land were granted to Walter Hope at the annual rent of 10 They were afterwards given to Richard Tuite and eventually became the property of Lord Granard in whose possession they have remained In 1756 the fathers of the order in Mullingar were Laurence Geral dine the prior Thomas Hope Ambrose Higgins James Barnewall Thomas Dalton and Patrick Mac Donagh a lay brother Franciscan friary AD 1622 the friars of Mullifernam began to erect a house for their order in Mullingar but it has remained unfinished

Monday, 10 October 2016

Friday, 7 October 2016


From Thomas Walsh's History of the Irish Hierarchy:

Athboy in the barony of Lune six miles north west of Trim A market and borough town which sent two members to the Irish parliament before its extinction by the British government AD 1317 the 17th of October a licence was granted to William de Loundres permitting him to make a donation to the friars of the blessed Virgin of Mount Carmel in Athboy of a lot of ground in the said town whereon this monastery stood AD 1325 a provincial chapter of the order was held before John Bloxham vicar general of the institute in Ireland AD 1372 The friars were indicted for acquiring two gardens contrary to the statute AD 1467 another chapter was held April 31st and of Henry VIII the thirty first the prior of Athboy was found seized of a church and a belfry a cloister a stone tower a mansion a small orchard and six small gardens all within the precincts and of the annual value besides reprises of 2s also eight messuages value 24s The monastery with these and other appurtenances was granted for ever to Thomas Casey in capite at the annual rent of 2s Irish

Friday, 2 September 2016


From Thomas Walsh's History of the Irish Hierarchy:

Kells on the river Blackwater gives its name to the barony. Is attributed to St. Columbkille about the year 550 by others to Kellach abbot of Hy who took refuge there from the ravages and attacks of the Danes and who is said to have founded the abbey. However this may be mention is made of abbots of Kells long prior to his flight from Hy.

A.D. 692 Muredach O Cricain was abbot.
A.D. 713 in the seventy fourth year of his age the abbot Foylcow died.
A.D. 802 the abbey of Kells was destroyed by fire.
A.D. 804 it was rebuilt in honor of St Columba.
A.D. 806 the Danes having killed many of the monks of Hy the abbot Kellach sought safety in Ireland.
A.D. 899 the abbey was sacked and pillaged.
A.D. 919 the Danes plundered Kells and laid the church which was of stone level with the ground.
A.D. 1061 died the blessed St. Ciaran famed for his great erudition wisdom and exemplary piety.

This abbey is remarkable for many memorable events. The Danes having made a furious attack in the year 967 on this monastery were routed with great slaughter by Ó Neil, the Great king of Ireland. In 1152 the famous synod of Kells was held under cardinal Paparo at which three thousand ecclesiastics attended besides the bishops. The abbey was destroyed six times by fire but was afterwards rebuilt in a style of greater magnificence partly by the bounty of the princes of Ireland but chiefly by the revenues which were attached to it. It possessed the most splendid library of any monastery in the kingdom having been celebrated for its manuscripts among which was St. Columbkille's book of the four Gospels adorned with gold and precious stones. Richard Plunket was the last abbot when in 1537 Henry VIII took into his own hands the extensive possessions of this abbey.

The grants of De Lacie in 1173 consisted of 36 townlands. In Kells it possessed 90 acres, in Grangestown 86, in Corbally 82, in Malerdone 16 messuages and 300 acres, in Kilbride 220 acres in Kiltome 350 acres together with 19 rectories. These several possessions were granted to Sir Gerald Plunkett.

At Kells is still to be seen St. Columba's house situated outside the boundary wall of the cemetery on the north side in its ground plan it presents a simple oblong form measuring externally twenty three feet nine inches in length and twenty one in breadth the walls being three feet ten inches in thickness. It is roofed with stone and measures in height from its base to the vertex of the gable thirty eight feet. The lower part of the building is arched semicircularly with stone and has at the east end a small semicircular headed window about fifteen feet from the ground. At the south side is a second window with a triangular head about the same height from the ground and measuring one foot nine inches in height. Those windows have a considerable splay on the inside. The apartment placed between the arched floor and the slanting roof is six feet in height and appears to have been originally divided into three apartments of unequal size of which the largest is lighted by a small aperture at the east end. In this chamber there is a flat stone six feet long and one thick called St. Columba's penitential bed.